In The News...


YPF to Champion NYP Agenda

The Nigerian Youth Parliament under the Leadership of Rt Hon Mubarak Mijinyawa paid a courtesy visit to the Chairman of the Young Parliamentarians Forum YPF of the Nigerian National Assembly Rt Hon Ibrahim Tukura where the extensive discussions and strategies were outlined on how to champion youth activities in the country.

Speaking at the meeting, the Speaker of the NYP, Mijinyawa presented the agenda of the Youth Parliament to the Chairman which includes a Legislative Internship Program LIP at the National Assembly for both Youth Parliamentarians and other interested Nigerian Youths.

While Elaborating on the LIP, the Majority Leader of the House, Hon Najib A Waziri Esq said ‘this will serve as a platform to produce the next generation leaders who will be well equipped with knowledge on governance and leadership’.

Part of the delegation also was Hon Ajirotutu F Olatunde who disclosed to chairman on the Parliament's plan to hold a National Young Legislators' Conference which will bring all young legislators from National and State Parliaments, Members of the Nigerian Youth Parliament and State Youth Parliaments on these platform for them to develop a stategic document that will majorly focus on youth development and which will be implemented in due course as a road map.

While acknowledging the efforts and expressing his satisfaction of the NYP, the Chairman of the YPF stated ‘alot of the listed goals on your agenda are in line with what the YPF are aiming to achieve and in that regard, you have the assurances of the YPF to ensure you achieve your goals by providing any technical and necessary support through partnership and collaboration.

The chairman was also impressed with the bills and motions sponsored by members of the NYP during the first sitting in Kano, stating that 'these are the kind of bills and motions you still find on the floor of the house of representatives.

Part of the delegation were the Minority Leader of the NYP Hon Daniel Uwadia, and Chairperson Committee on Sustainable Development Goals Hon Costly Aderigbe Abosede.

26 views0 comments